Kathleen Nutter

Young adult fantasy author: Light Changers series. This goal of this blog is embrace my love of writing, cooking and painting.

Cottage Dill Rolls using a Bread Machine.

I decided to make some homemade rolls for tonight’s dinner using the dough cycle of my trusty Betty Crocker bread machine. I love that machine….even if it has tried to jump from the counter once, or twice.

Bread Machine

I got the basic recipe from Allrecipes:  Cottage Cheese Bread 1

Here are the ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 cup cottage cheese
  • 2 tablespoons margarine
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon white sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups bread flour
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast

I added a tablespoon of dill to the mix.  I have done fresh dill weed and jarred dill weed, and both turned out the same.  After the dough cycle was completed (about 1.5 hours), I dropped the dough onto a floured surface.

Pinch off about nine dough balls. 

 Very easy….no kneading, just pinch and  go.

Place the dough balls on a a tray to rise in a warm place.

Place the dough balls on a a tray to rise in a warm place.

I let the dough balls rise with a tea towel draped on top of them for 40 minutes. I used the silicone Silpat beneath them to keep them from sticking.

      Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

After they rose, I did an egg-white wash (one egg white with a tablespoon of water added.) I decided to sprinkle sea salt and sesame seeds atop the egg-washed dough balls. Sesame seeds are so cute.

Close-up of the egg wash and sesame seeds.

Close-up of the egg wash and sesame seeds.

Now, bake the little buns for about 15 minutes at 350, until golden brown.  I often use my sense of smell when making bread. If you don’t smell the bread, chances are it is not ready!

Here they are:

         

For dinner, we made Pesto Turkey Burgers which were amazingly delicious and highly recommended. Click on the hyperlink above for the burger recipe.  I prepped the rolls and the burgers ahead, so when dinnertime came around, I slapped the burgers on the Foreman grill for a few minutes and then plated them.

The cottage dill rolls made the burger perfect!

Happy bun making!

Kathleen ❤

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

